Search Programs

Florida International University Reviews of Master's in Architecture

48 Reviews

Locations:   Miami (FL) 

Annual Tuition: $18,963

100% of students said this degree improved their career prospects
94% of students said they would recommend this program to others
Find an Online Degree:

Student Reviews - Master's in Architecture

Student Reviews - Master's in Architecture

View reviews of all degrees >>

Melodie coles

Reviewed: 4/25/2019

Degree: Architecture

FIU offers a lot of opportunity with certain professor. As a transfer student I didn't receive the benefits of starting with the school. I strongly believe that FIU cares about the students but they put little enfaces on the academics, the only class where they do is Design and it all depends on what professor you get assigned. Also the professors for tesis are chosen for you and you could get one that you really don't like. A class that FIU offers is IBS and Comprehensive, it's a great course and... Read More

Denis Ibarra

Reviewed: 4/25/2019

Degree: Architecture

You get what you put into. If you really want to learn you need to dive in and seek help from the faculty and graduate assistants. Faculty is very well prepared and are willing to assist students to achieve their maximum potential; however, it is up to each individual student to ask for guidance.

Omer Cuvanlioglu

Reviewed: 4/25/2019

Degree: Architecture

I love everything about it except that 13 differential credits we have to take for no reason except spend more money on education like we dont already spend enough. Other than that architectural classes are perfectly fine, we have amazing alumni and I thank them all for the help and effort they put to change us in a very much better way!

Cristian Almendariz

Reviewed: 4/25/2019

Degree: Architecture

As a Master of Architecture three year track students should be aware that this is a very intense program. They will have to dedicate all their time for school specially for the first year making it really hard to work at the same time. Time management is crucial. For the most part, I feel we had very good instructors and useful classes.

VERLAN EUGENE

Reviewed: 4/25/2019

Degree: Architecture

FIU SOA lives and breathes diversity. There is a beautiful culture where everyone helps each other better themselves. Of course there is competition but its healthy competition. The relationship with the professors are amazing as you always see them on a personal basis if need be. That's one of the main things that allows us to flourish.

Jose Diaz-Rivera

Reviewed: 4/25/2019

Degree: Architecture

Great teachings and alot of variety of studies in the field and other topics in Architecture. Great environment to study for any quiz, test, or work in groups on projects. Great atmosphere to study, collaborate, get involve, look for work, and great feedback from a majority of the professors.

Sophya Vega

Reviewed: 4/25/2019

Degree: Architecture

I feel that professors are not strict enough and let students pass for doing unsatisfactory work. It creates a bad learning environment because they lower the standards of how much we’ll learn and what quality of work is expected from us. The professors are generally not good role models and tell students to go learn material online and on YouTube because they lack knowledge in that field. I am rather upset with my education at the end of the day.

alibu004

Reviewed: 4/25/2019

Degree: Architecture

FIU has a great Architecture program. The resources they provide are unmatched. The studio culture is amazing as well. They also provide many opportunities for the students to get a job. Most of the professors recognize the student’s potential and give proper critique on how they can always improve as individuals and architects.

Marcela Gavilanez

Reviewed: 4/25/2019

Degree: Architecture

Florida international university is a great environment if you are transferring from outside the united states because is rich in culture and all the faculty is very patient and understanding. Also, the resources that it provides its students cant be find anywhere else

Kvalc003

Reviewed: 4/25/2019

Degree: Architecture

Everything I expected to get out of my experience actually happened. The networking opportunities were abundant and there were plenty of extracurricular activities to participate in. Study abroad was extremely well organized and a tremendous overall experience.

Jorge

Reviewed: 4/25/2019

Degree: Architecture

The best thing about the school is it’s resources from multiple 3d printers to the fab lab and the robotic arms. There’s lots of opportunities to take advantage of, the range of teachers and there specialties is vast. Self motivation here is key to success

Nerea lazaro

Reviewed: 4/25/2019

Degree: Architecture

The master and bachelor in architecture from Florida International University is a great program that would help student develop his or her skills and improve the students future work opportunities. Along this stage of the students life, he or she would meet new and magnificent professionals that would help you grow as a person and as an architect

Vanessa Estevez

Reviewed: 4/25/2019

Degree: Architecture

The school was great but there is definitely room for improvement when it comes to taking students into consideration and offering good opportunities and resources. Some professors were not fully equipped to teach the classes that they were in charge of and this was a huge disappointment in some occasions.

Ivette Trejo

Reviewed: 4/25/2019

Degree: Architecture

This school has prepared me and allowed me grow and learn in many areas. All the studios allow you to further experiment with different architectural concepts and research. The staff is also very helpful and they take your projects very serious. They help you to the very end.

Laura Patino

Reviewed: 4/25/2019

Degree: Architecture

I was really happy during my time at FIU. The faculty is very helpful and encourage you to push yourself every day. The studio culture is great, since we almost live there, that was really important to me. I am specially happy with my master project, it was everything that I wanted.

Neil Varillas

Reviewed: 4/25/2019

Degree: Architecture

Excellent school and amazing professors. I was able to develop my skills and find many new interests. I met so many people that had similar interests and managed to get a job through the school activities. I am so satisfied with Florida International University and I appreciate everything professors have done for me.

Saulo Nicolas Barrera

Reviewed: 4/25/2019

Degree: Architecture

The school of architecture at Florida International University (Fiu) is a great school to prepare yourself for teachings of architecture. It has helped me personally to grow and mature, I feel more prepared to continue my life after my education and feel confident enough that I will prosper.

JM

Reviewed: 4/25/2019

Degree: Architecture

I think school should considerate students more time put for their final. Meaning more time with the print labs and lasercuts. I also believe that students should hear from critics outside of FIU, so that they can have another perspective of their design proposals.

Kevin Di Nardo

Reviewed: 4/25/2019

Degree: Architecture

Great potential and forward-thinking for technological applications related to the field of Architecture. Strong structures program and classes geared towards preparing you for the real-world. Also, flexible enough curriculum to accommodate more avant-garde digital design classes.

Alfonso fernandez

Reviewed: 4/25/2019

Degree: Architecture

I love FIU and I would recommend it to pretty much anyone that wants to study architecture because I learned a lot and I also has a great time with all the different events and opportunities FIU provided in the course of my 5 years master programs. Awesome professors

Related Articles

2023 Most Affordable Online Master's Programs in Architecture

Find a school for your budget from our 2023 list of the most affordable colleges for online master's degrees in architecture.

By OnlineU Staff Writers | 1/11/2023

Which Schools Offer the Best Employment Outcomes for Architecture Majors?

Employment data for more than 166,000 architecture graduates highlights the best schools for a job at the top 25 firms in America.

By OnlineU Staff Writers | 2/15/2022

ADVERTISEMENT

Start Your Online College Search:

Review schools that align with your career aspirations.